Argonne National Laboratory

Opening Session, Monday, May 2 – Bldg. 402 Lecture Hall


8:45– 8:50             David Tiede, Moderator (APSUO Chair, Argonne National Laboratory)

8:50 –9:05             
Eric Isaacs (Director, Argonne National Laboratory)
                            Welcome from the Laboratory

9:05 – 9:30             Linda Horton (Director, Materials Sciences and Engineering Division, Office of Basic Energy Sciences, DOE)
                               Office of Science Perspective

9:30 – 10:00            Matthew Tirrell (Founding Pritzker Director of the Institute for Molecular Engineering, University of Chicago)

10:00 – 10:30        
The Honorable Randall (Randy) M. Hultgren, U.S. House of Representatives, IL 14th District
                                A Washington Perspective

10:30 – 11:00         Coffee Break, Gallery and Atrium

11:00 – 11:20          Brian Stephenson (Interim Director, Advanced Photon Source)

                               Update on the Advanced Photon Source

11:20 – 11:40          Amanda Petford–Long (Director, Center for Nanoscale Materials)

                               Update on the Center for Nanoscale Materials

11:40 – 12:00          Dean Miller (Director, Electron Microscopy Center)

                                Update on the Electron Microscopy Center

12:00–12:20            Simon Bare (UOP LLC)

                                National User Facility Organization (NUFO) Report

12:20 – 1:30            Lunch (Tent)


U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science | UChicago Argonne LLC
Privacy & Security Notice